frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Attempt to the Pointe d’Orny

A few decades ago, when one aimed to get to the Cabane du Trient, one had to reach the glacier below the Cabane d’Orny and reach the section above the cracked part. So, to get to Trient, one had to be equipped for the glacier: ice ax, crampons, harness, and rope.

With the melting of the Orny glacier, it is now possible to reach the Cabane du Trient without having to walk on the glacier. One also should carefully consult the map, because one might tend to follow a nice path that goes down to the glacier.

From the Cabane d´Orny, follow a well-marked path that goes around Lake Orny in a wide loop to the north, to cross the slopes under the Aiguilles Tourelles. A small passage through the old moraine is a bit tricky and requires a good balance. A little further on, one walks alongside a small lake left by the glacier before climbing through the glacial polished rocks. This is the most delicate passage: one must climb a small wall leading to a ledge. Higher up, the path crosses above the glacier with a slightly aerial step (reminding of the one near the Breya, but without the vegetation). It does not take long to go around the corner and reach the Cabane du Trient.

From the Cabane du Trient, it is worth climb to the neighboring Pointe d´Orny. Of course, the terrain changes, since one no longer has a trail, but one must make one’s way through the big boulders. A few vague tracks indicate the easiest route. At the top, the view is panoramic and rewards the effort.

Comments are closed.

frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Versuch Pointe d’Orny

Vor ein paar Jahrzehnten, wenn man zur Trient-Hütte gehen wollte, musste man den Gletscher unterhalb der Cabane d’Orny erreichen, um auf oberhalb des spaltenreichen Abschnittes zu gelangen. Um nach Trient zu gelangen, musste man für den Gletscher ausgerüstet sein: Eispickel, Steigeisen, Klettergurt und Seil.

Mit dem Rückzug des Orny-Gletschers ist es nun möglich, die Trient-Hütte zu erreichen, ohne auf dem Gletscher gehen zu müssen. Man sollte dabei die Karte sorgfältig nachschlagen, da man versucht ist, einen guten Weg zum Gletscher zu folgen.

Von der Orny-Hütte muss man einen gut markierten Pfad folgen, der den Orny-See in einer breiten Schleife nach Norden umgeht, um unter den Aiguilles Tourelles durchzuqueren. Ein kurzer Abschnitt durch die alte Moräne ist etwas knifflig und erfordert ein gutes Gleichgewicht. Ein Stück weiter geht man an einem kleinen See entlang, den der Gletscher hinterlassen hat, bevor man durch die gletscherschliff-Felsen klettert. Dies ist der heikelste Abschnitt: man muss eine kleine Wand erklimmen, die zu einem Felsband führt. Weiter oben quert der Weg oberhalb des Gletschers durch eine luftige Stelle (die an die in der Nähe von La Breya errinert, aber ohne Vegetation). Es dauert nicht lange, um die Ecke zu gehen und die Trient-Hütte zu erreichen.

Von der Trient-Hütte aus lohnt es sich, zur benachbarten Pointe d´Orny zu steigen. Natürlich ändert sich das Gelände, da es keinen Pfad mehr gibt, und man muss sich den Weg durch die grossen Felsbrocken machen. Ein paar undeutliche Spuren deuten auf die einfachste Route. Oben geniesst man eine Rundsicht, die die Mühe belohnt.

Comments are closed.