Telephone : +41 22 757 67 57 frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Tours

Via Stockalper
Price

CHF 750.-

Level
2/5
Middle
T2
Group size
3/5
Middle group
06
Next scheduled dates
No content found
4 days, radiating

The Stockalper trail is a historical trail that has been created since many years.

Its name refers to Gaspar Jodoc Stockalper, a trader that managed to build an important economical empire. Despite the fact that he had been discharged of all his rights following a kind of conspiracy, he has bequeathed quite a lot of buildings to the cultural heritage. Especially, one should mention the Stockalper tower in Gondo, alas seriously damaged during the landslide of the year 2000 and the « Alter Spittel », the former hospice located about one kilometer from the pass. This was also the place where travelers made a stop.

Departure/return Location
3907 Simplon Dorf, Switzerland
Departure time
Please arrive by 9:00 AM
Return time
Approximately 3:00 PM
Included
Not Included
Itinerary

Day 1                                     Simplon Dorf – Gondoschlucht – Gondo

Although the Gorges of Gondo were not traveled at Stockalper’s time, the section of path crossing them is historical. In fact, it was during Napoleon’s reign that the current road was built. This one had to be wide enough, following the assignment, to let the guns pass by. It is also in these gorges that exist a fort built during first world war and extended during second world war.

(250m, 3h, hotel)

Day 2                                     Gondo – Zwischberge – Furggu – Simplon Dorf

Here we will travel the original trail of Simplon. In fact, before the 19th century and the building of the road across the Gorges of Gondo, the route of the Simplon Pass entered the Zwischberge valley, climbed the Furggu and reached Simplon Dorf. It is in the valley of Zwischberge that are the gold mines that made the news at the early beginning of the 20th century.

(1500m, 6h15, hotel)

Day 3                                     Simplon Dorf – Egga – Engiloch – Alte Spittel – Simplon Hospiz

The mule track between the village and the pass consists of section that are perfectly preserved. It is a pity that the noise of the modern road is so much noticeable. A bit further, we will reach the « Alter Spittel », the original hospice on the trail of the Simplon. The current hospice is in fact a garrison house built during Napoleon’s reign, at the same time that the road, in the meantime, sold to the congregation of the canons of Grand Saint-Bernard.

(670m, 3h, hotel)

Day 4                                     Simplon Hospiz – Taferna – Schallberg – Lingwurm – Brig

The path that is going down from the Simplon is magnificent. It avoids large sections of the road and goes down along the Saltina. Further down, one has to climb a couple of meters in order to reach Schallberg, since the gorges are impassable. After having crossed above the gorges, a smooth descent is waiting for us to reach Brig.

(300m, 4h)

Location

frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Tours

Die Via Stockalper
Preis

CHF 750.-

Schwierigkeit
2/5
Mittel
T2
Gruppengrösse
3/5
Mittlere Gruppe
06
Nächste geplante Termine
Datum
2021-09-09
4 Tage, sternförmig

Der Stockalper Weg ist eine historische Route, die schon seit einiger Zeit eingerichtet wurde. Der Name bezieht sich auf Gaspard Jodoc Stockalper ein Geschäftsmann aus dem 17. Jahrhundert der ein einflussreiches Geschäft aufgebaut hatte. Trotz der Tatsache, dass er von seinen Rechten, nach einer Art von Verschwörung, abgesetzt wurde, hat er einige eine grosse Anzahl Bauten hintergelassen. Besonders kann man den Stockalperturm in Gondo erwähnen, der leider im Jahr 2000 durch einen Bergsturz beschädigt wurde. Ebenfalls kann man der « Alter Spittel » erwähnen der kurz vor der Simplon Passhöhe steht und der früher eine Sust war.

Ausgangs-/Endort
3907 Simplon Dorf, Schweiz
Startzeit
Bitte kommen Sie um 9:00 an
Endzeit
Um ungefähr 15:00
Einbegriffen
Nicht inbegriffen
Reiseplan

Erster Tag:                             Simplon Dorf – Gondoschlucht – Gondo

Auch wenn die Gondoschlucht zu der Zeit von Stockalper nicht begangen wurden, ist der Weg der sich dort befindet historisch. Tatsächlich ist es Napoleon der die heutige Strasse gebaut hatte. Diese musste, gemäss Antrag, breit genug sein, um mit Kanonen befahrbar zu sein. Ebenfalls in dieser Schlucht befindet sich eine Festung die im ersten Weltkrieg gebaut und im zweiten ausgeweitet wurde.

(250m, 3 St., Hotel)

Zweiter Tag:                         Gondo – Zwischberge – Furggu – Simplon Dorf

Hier befinden wir uns auf dem ursprünglichen Weg des Simplon. Tatsächlich verlief der Weg im 19. Jahrhundert und vor dem Bau der Strasse in der Gondoschlucht durch das Zwischbergtal, über die Furggu und erreichte Simplon Dorf. Im Zwischbergtal befindet sich eine Goldgrube die am Anfang des 20. Jahrhundert viel zu reden gaben.

(1500m, 6St. 15, Hotel)

Dritter Tag:                           Simplon Dorf – Egga – Engiloch – Alte Spittel – Simplon Hospiz

Der Säumerweg zwischen Simplon Dorf und die Passhöhe weist einige Stücke in einem bemerkenswerten Zustand auf. Schade, dass der Lärm der Strasse so sehr anwesend ist. Weiter werden wir der Alter Spittel erreichen, ursprüngliches Hospiz auf der Strasse des Simplon. Das heutige Hospiz ist eigentlich eine Kaserne, die unter Napoleon gebaut wurde und die in der zwischenzeit and der Kongregation der Domherren von Grand Saint-Bernard abgegeben wurde.

(670m, 3St. Hospiz)

Vierter Tag                            Simplon Hospiz – Taferna – Schallberg – Lingwurm – Brig

Der Pfad, der vom Simplon absteigt, ist wunderbar. Er meidet einen grossen Teil der modernen Strasse und geht entlang der Saltina hinab. Weiter muss man einige Meter aufsteigen, um Schallberg zu erreichen, weil die Schlucht weiter unten unpassierbar ist. Sobald man über der Schlucht gequert hat geht es mit einem angenehmen Abstieg in Richtung Brig hinab.

(300m, 4St.)

Ort