Telephone : +41 22 757 67 57 frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Tours

Via Stockalper
Price

CHF 750.-

Level
2/5
Middle
T2
Group size
3/5
Middle group
06
Next scheduled dates
No content found
4 days, radiating

The Stockalper trail is a historical trail that has been created since many years.

Its name refers to Gaspar Jodoc Stockalper, a trader that managed to build an important economical empire. Despite the fact that he had been discharged of all his rights following a kind of conspiracy, he has bequeathed quite a lot of buildings to the cultural heritage. Especially, one should mention the Stockalper tower in Gondo, alas seriously damaged during the landslide of the year 2000 and the « Alter Spittel », the former hospice located about one kilometer from the pass. This was also the place where travelers made a stop.

Departure/return Location
3907 Simplon Dorf, Switzerland
Departure time
Please arrive by 9:00 AM
Return time
Approximately 3:00 PM
Included
Not Included
Itinerary

Day 1                                     Simplon Dorf – Gondoschlucht – Gondo

Although the Gorges of Gondo were not traveled at Stockalper’s time, the section of path crossing them is historical. In fact, it was during Napoleon’s reign that the current road was built. This one had to be wide enough, following the assignment, to let the guns pass by. It is also in these gorges that exist a fort built during first world war and extended during second world war.

(250m, 3h, hotel)

Day 2                                     Gondo – Zwischberge – Furggu – Simplon Dorf

Here we will travel the original trail of Simplon. In fact, before the 19th century and the building of the road across the Gorges of Gondo, the route of the Simplon Pass entered the Zwischberge valley, climbed the Furggu and reached Simplon Dorf. It is in the valley of Zwischberge that are the gold mines that made the news at the early beginning of the 20th century.

(1500m, 6h15, hotel)

Day 3                                     Simplon Dorf – Egga – Engiloch – Alte Spittel – Simplon Hospiz

The mule track between the village and the pass consists of section that are perfectly preserved. It is a pity that the noise of the modern road is so much noticeable. A bit further, we will reach the « Alter Spittel », the original hospice on the trail of the Simplon. The current hospice is in fact a garrison house built during Napoleon’s reign, at the same time that the road, in the meantime, sold to the congregation of the canons of Grand Saint-Bernard.

(670m, 3h, hotel)

Day 4                                     Simplon Hospiz – Taferna – Schallberg – Lingwurm – Brig

The path that is going down from the Simplon is magnificent. It avoids large sections of the road and goes down along the Saltina. Further down, one has to climb a couple of meters in order to reach Schallberg, since the gorges are impassable. After having crossed above the gorges, a smooth descent is waiting for us to reach Brig.

(300m, 4h)

Location

Téléphone : +41 22 757 67 57Telephone : +41 22 757 67 57Telefon : +41 22 757 67 57 frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Tours

La Via Stockalper
Prix

CHF 750.-

Niveau
2/5
Moyen
T2
Taille du groupe
3/5
Groupe moyen
06
4 jours en étoile

Le chemin Stockalper est un itinéraire historique qui a été aménagé depuis bien des années. Le nom fait référence à Gaspard Jodoc Stockalper, marchand du 17ème siècle qui avait réussi à bâtir un empire économique important. Malgré le fait qu’il ait été destitué de tous ses droits, suite à une forme de conspiration, il a légué à la postérité un bon nombre d’ouvrages. En particulier, on peut mentionner la Tour de Stockalper à Gondo, malheureusement sérieusement endommagée lors de l’éboulement de l’an 2000 et « l’Alte Spittel », ancien hospice se trouvant à un petit kilomètre du col du Simplon et qui servait à l’époque de Souste.

Lieu de départ/retour
3907 Simplon Dorf, Suisse
Heure de départ
Prière d'arriver à 9:00
Heure de retour
Vers 15:00 environ
Inclus
Non inclus
Itinéraire

Jour 1 :                                  Simplon Dorf – Gondoschlucht – Gondo

Bien que les gorges de Gondo n’étaient pas parcourues à l’époque de Stockalper, le tronçon de chemin s’y trouvant est historique. C’est en effet sous Napoléon que l’on a construit la route actuelle. Celle-ci devait, selon le mandat, être suffisamment large pour pouvoir y faire transiter les canons. C’est dans ces gorges que l’on trouve également un fort, construit durant la 1ère guerre mondiale et étendu durant la seconde.

(250m, 3h, Hôtel)

Jour 2 :                                  Gondo – Zwischberge – Furggu – Simplon Dorf

Là, nous suivrons le chemin originel du Simplon. En effet, avant le 19ème siècle et la construction de la route à travers les gorges de Gondo, l’itinéraire du col du Simplon passait dans la vallée de Zwischbergen, remontait à la Furggu et rejoingnait Simplon Dorf. C’est dans la vallée de Zwischbergen que se trouve d’anciennes mines d’or qui avaient, au tout début du 20ème siècle beaucoup fait parler d’elles.

(1500m , 6h15, Hôtel)

Jour 3 :                                  Simplon Dorf – Egga – Engiloch – Alte Spittel – Simplon Hospiz

Le sentier muletier du Simplon, entre le village et le col, comporte quelques tronçons dans un état de conservation remarquable. Dommage que le bruit de la route soit aussi présent. Un peu plus haut, nous gagnerons l’Alter Spittel, hospice originel du parcours du Simplon. L’hospice actuel est en fait une caserne construite sous Napoléon en même temps que la route, entretemps cédée à la congrégation des Chanoines du Saint-Bernard.

(670m, 3h, Hospice)

Jour 4 :                  Simplon Hospiz – Taferna – Schallberg – Lingwurm – Brig

Le sentier descendant du Simplon est magnifique. Il évite de larges tronçons de la route et descend le long de la Saltina. Plus bas, il faut remonter quelques mètres en direcion de Schallberg, les gorges étant impraticables. Après être passé au-dessus des gorges, une douce descente nous attend pour rejoindre Brig.

(300m, 4h)

Lieu