frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

The climb to Routia

When one goes up Valais, whether by car or by train, one will certainly notice the large, slightly tortured rock wall located under the Haut de Cry. This wall descends towards the bottom of the valley and ends around Ardon.

At first glance, it is hard to believe that a path crosses this wall, especially since the viewing angle hides part of the passages. In reality and looking closer, one realizes that this rock wall can be crossed. A look at the topographic map confirms this fact.

Searching on the Internet, one notices that there is a fair amount of discussion about the difficulty of the passage. This is probably due to the fact that there is often confusion between difficulty and exposure. If one considers only the difficulty, disregarding the void, one can see that the use of the hands is only necessary for balance, except for a short passage. This would therefore correspond to a T3, with a section of T4 (equipped with a cable).

To reach the start of the trail, one must first go up to Némiaz and cross this hamlet. On leaving the hamlet, the path, well marked on the ground, climbs steeply through the forest to reach a ravine where it would not be good to stay in the event of a rain-storm. After this place, the passages become very rocky and one crosses in the direction of a small collar behind a well marked and visible rock head. It is after this collar that one reaches the key passage after having descended on a ledge: a chimney equipped with a cable. The cable must be strictly followed, because it has been fixed where the passage is the easiest. After a crossing, one reaches another rock head which marks the end of the difficulties.

Beyond, the path crosses the undergrowth towards a well-marked pass which is behind the Routia. There, one has the possibility of going up to Ancillons, but this day I had chosen to go down in the direction of Ardon. Before arriving in this locality, one follows a section of the Bisse de Champys.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

code

Téléphone : +41 22 757 67 57Telephone : +41 22 757 67 57Telefon : +41 22 757 67 57 frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

La montée à la Routia

Lorsqu’on remonte le Valais, que ce soit en automobile ou en train, on remarquera certainement la grande paroi un peu torturée se trouvant sous le Haut de Cry. Cette paroi, descend en direction du fond de la vallée et se termine dans les alentours d’Ardon.

Au premier regard, on a peine à croire qu’un sentier franchit cette paroi, d’autant plus que l’angle de vision cache une partie des passages. En réalité et en regardant mieux, on se rend compte que la paroi peut être franchie. Un regard sur la carte topographique confirme ce fait.

En cherchant sur Internet, on constate qu’il y a passablement de discussion quand à la difficulté du passage. Cela provient probablement du fait qu’il y a souvent confusion entre difficulté et exposition. Si on considère la difficulté, en faisant abstraction du vide, on peut constater que l’usage des mains n’est nécessaire que pour l’équilibre, sauf un court passage. Cela correspondrait donc bel et bien à un T3, avec un passage de T4 (équipé d’un câble).

Pour atteindre le départ du sentier, il faut d’abord monter à Némiaz et traverser ce hameau. A la sortie du hameau, le sentier, bien marqué au sol, monte raide à travers la forêt pour atteindre une ravine où il ne doit pas faire bon rester en cas d’orage. Après cet endroit, les passages deviennent beaucoup rocheux et on traverse en direction d’un petit collet derrière une tête rocheuse bien marquée et visible. C’est après ce collet que l’on atteint le passage clé après être descendu sur une vire : une cheminée équipée d’un câble. Il faut bien suivre le câble, car il a été fixé là où le passage est le plus facile. Après une traversée, on atteint une autre tête rocheuse qui marque la fin des difficultés.

Au-delà, le sentier traverse les sous-bois en direction d’un col bien marqué et qui se trouve derrière la Routia. Là, on a la possibilité de monter aux Ancillons, mais j’avais choisi de descendre en direction d’Ardon. Avant d’arriver dans cette localité, on suit un bout du Bisse de Champys.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

code