frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Third day on foot from the Rhône to the Maggia

The 1999 edition of the book “A pied du Rhône à la Maggia” suggests making the journey in 6 days. There, I had decided to do it over 4 days. Whatever one decides to do, the stretch between Pomatt (Formazza) and Bosco / Gurin cannot be so shortened. The only way to make it shorter would be to go up to the Guriner Furggu, a little lower in altitude, and join the Grossalp where one could spend the night … or go down by chairlift.
In the 1999 edition of the book, there is strong emphasis on the name of Hint Furka to designate the mountain pass borrowed by the protagonist. By consulting the Siegfried map (which was topical in the 1950s), we see that the pass is mentioned as Hint.-Furka, which would correspond to Hintere Furka (Hendar Furggu in dialect, conforming spelling which has been used on modern maps).
One should also mention the Walser hotel which is probably the one where S. Corinna Bille had spent the night. She mentions there the furtive meeting with Plinio Martini who wrote several works describing life in the Valle Maggia (I recommend: Il fondo del sacco). It is interesting to note that Plinio combined two functions: schoolmaster in Bignasco and hotelier during the summer season.

Comments are closed.

Téléphone : +41 22 757 67 57Telephone : +41 22 757 67 57Telefon : +41 22 757 67 57 frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Troisième jour à pied du Rhône à la Maggia

L’édition de 1999 du livre “A pied du Rhône à la Maggia” suggère d’effectuer le périple en 6 jours. Là, j’avais décidé de le faire sur 4 jours. Quoi que l’on décide de faire, l’étape entre Pomatt (Formazza) et Bosco/Gurin ne peut être tellement raccourcie. Le seul moyen de faire plus court serait de monter à la Guriner Furggu, un peu plus basse, et rejoindre la Grossalp où on pourrait passer la nuit… ou descendre en télésiège.

Dans l’édition de 1999 du livre, on insiste fortement sur le nom de Hint Furka pour désigner le col emprunté par la protagoniste. En consultant la carte Siegfried (qui était d’actualité dans les années 50), on s’aperçoit que le col est mentionné comme Hint.-Furka, ce qui correspondrait à Hintere Furka (Hendar Furggu en dialecte, graphie conforme qui a été reprise sur les cartes modernes).
A mentionner également l’hôtel Walser qui est probablement celui où S. Corinna Bille avait passé la nuit. Elle y mentionne la furtive rencontre avec Plinio Martini qui a écrit quelques ouvrages décrivant la vie dans la Valle Maggia (je conseille: Il fondo del sacco). Il est intéressant de noter que Plinio cumulait deux fonctions: maître d’école à Bignasco et hôtelier durant la saison estivale.

Comments are closed.