frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Third day on foot from the Rhône to the Maggia

The 1999 edition of the book “A pied du Rhône à la Maggia” suggests making the journey in 6 days. There, I had decided to do it over 4 days. Whatever one decides to do, the stretch between Pomatt (Formazza) and Bosco / Gurin cannot be so shortened. The only way to make it shorter would be to go up to the Guriner Furggu, a little lower in altitude, and join the Grossalp where one could spend the night … or go down by chairlift.
In the 1999 edition of the book, there is strong emphasis on the name of Hint Furka to designate the mountain pass borrowed by the protagonist. By consulting the Siegfried map (which was topical in the 1950s), we see that the pass is mentioned as Hint.-Furka, which would correspond to Hintere Furka (Hendar Furggu in dialect, conforming spelling which has been used on modern maps).
One should also mention the Walser hotel which is probably the one where S. Corinna Bille had spent the night. She mentions there the furtive meeting with Plinio Martini who wrote several works describing life in the Valle Maggia (I recommend: Il fondo del sacco). It is interesting to note that Plinio combined two functions: schoolmaster in Bignasco and hotelier during the summer season.

Comments are closed.

Telefon : +41 22 757 67 57 frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Dritter Tag zu Fuss von der Rhône bis zur Maggia

Die Ausgabe 1999 des Buches „A pied du Rhône à la Maggia“ schlägt vor, die Wandrung in 6 Tagen zu unternehmen. Doch hatte ich beschlossen, es über 4 Tage zu tun. Was auch immer man sich entscheidet, die Strecke zwischen Pomatt (Formazza) und Bosco / Gurin kann nicht so sehr verkürzt werden. Die einzige Möglichkeit, sie kürzer zu gestalten, besteht darin, die etwas tiefere Guriner Furggu zu überqueren und die Grossalp zu erreichen, wo man übernachten könnte … oder mit dem Sessellift hinunter zu fahren.
In der Ausgabe des Buches von 1999 wird der Name Hint Furka stark unterstreicht, um das von den Protagonisten gebrauchten Pass zu bezeichnen. Wenn man sich die Siegfried-Karte ansieht (die in den 1950er Jahren aktuell war), sellt man fest, dass der Pass als Hint.-Furka bezeichnet wird, was Hintere Furka (Hendar Furggu im Dialekt, was die Schreibweise entspricht, die auf modernen Karten verwendet wird).
Man sollte ebenfalls das Walser Hotel erwähnen, in dem wahrscheinlich S. Corinna Bille übernachtet hatte. Sie erwähnt dort das flüchtige Treffen mit Plinio Martini, der mehrere Werke schrieb, die das Leben im Valle Maggia beschreiben (ich empfehle: Il Fondo del Sacco). Es ist interessant festzustellen, dass Plinio zwei Funktionen gleichzeitig ausübte: Schulmeister in Bignasco und Hotelier während der Sommersaison.

Comments are closed.