frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

The follow-up from Romont to Moudon

Another stage on the trail to Saint-Jacques is the one that connects Romont to Moudon.

Many people have certainly passed by these places, whether by car or by train, but it is worth doing this section on foot, because one discovers the landscapes in a different way. In addition, the two historic towns invite to a short visit.

Leaving from Romont station, the path climbs somewhat towards the old medieval city before crossing towards the industrial area. After having crossed through the warehouses, it does not take long going up in the direction of Billens. Arrived in this village, the route follows the road in the direction of Hennens and one is sometimes disturbed by the passing by of a car. However, as one leaves Hennens, one follows uncrowded agricultural paths. One then goes up towards the hill on which stands a telephone antenna.

From this point, the view goes far, and one can clearly see the peaks of the Gantrisch region and the Fribourg Pre-Alps. Towards the east, one will notice a small, very isolated wooded summit. Although it is not remarkably high, its isolation makes it possible to clearly identify the Guggershorn, the known summit of the Schwarzenburg region. Further to the left, one will also notice the Tower of Ulmiz, dominating the region of Bern.

In the descent, one crosses the village of Lovatens and one then has a magnificent view of Lucens and its castle. In the background, one recognizes the Jura and the peaks of Suchet, Aiguilles de Baulmes and Chasseron. The descent continues as far as Curtille and from this village the route is practically flat, as it does not take long before following the Broye along the dikes.

On the other bank, one passes the remains of the Lucens Experimental Nuclear Power Plant. This Swiss-designed plant was the scene of a major nuclear accident, with part of the reactor core melting. This accident put an end to any ambition for nuclear power of an entirely Swiss design.

After having skirted the Broye for a while, it is not long before one reaches Moudon, not without having passed the aging cellars of Gruyère. The national map indicates “La Brasserie” as the name of the place. Have the cellars of an old brewery been reused for storing cheese? I have not been able to find a satisfactory answer.

Route: Romont – Billens – Hennens – Lovatens – Curtille – Moudon
Distance: 15Km
Elevation: 180m
Duration: 4h

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

code

Téléphone : +41 22 757 67 57Telephone : +41 22 757 67 57Telefon : +41 22 757 67 57 frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

La suite de Romont à Moudon

Une autre étape sur le chemin de Saint-Jacques est celle qui relie Romont à Moudon.

Beaucoup de gens sont certainement déjà passé par ces localités, que ce soit en voiture ou en train, mais il vaut la peine de réaliser cette étape à pied, car on découvre autrement les paysages. De plus, les deux localités historiques invitent à une petite visite.

Au départ de la gare de Romont, le sentier monte quelque peu en direction de l’ancienne cité médiévale avant de traverser en direction de la zone industrielle. Après avoir traversé vers les entrepôts, on ne tarde pas à monter en direction de Billens. Arrivé dans ce village, l’itinéraire suit la route en direction de Hennens et on est parfois dérangé par le passage d’une automobile. Toutefois, à la sortie d’Hennens, on suit des chemins agricoles peu fréquentés. On monte alors en direction du coteau sur lequel se dresse une antenne téléphonique.

Depuis cet endroit, la vue porte loin et on distingue bien les sommets de la région du Gantrisch et des Préalpes Fribourgeoises. En particulier, vers l’est, on remarquera un petit sommet boisé très isolé. Bien qu’il ne soit pas très élevé, son isolement permet de bien identifier le Guggershorn, sommet connu du pays de Schwarzenburg. Plus sur la gauche, on remarquera également la Tour d’Ulmiz, dominant la région de Berne.

Dans la descente, on traverse le village de Lovatens et on a alors une magnifique vue sur Lucens et son château. En arrière-plan, on reconnaît le Jura et les sommets du Suchet, des Aiguilles de Baulmes et du Chasseron. La descente se poursuit jusqu’à Curtille et à partir de ce village, l’itinéraire est pratiquement plat, car on ne tarde pas à suivre la Broye le long des digues.

Sur l’autre rive, on passe devant les restes de la Centrale Nucléaire Expérimentale de Lucens. Cette centrale, de conception suisse, a été le théâtre d’un accident nucléaire majeur, avec fusion d’une partie du cœur du réacteur. Cet accident a mis fin à toute ambition de nucléaire de conception entièrement suisse.

Après avoir longé la Broye un bon bout, on ne tarde pas à rejoindre Moudon, non sans avoir passé devant les caves d’affinage du Gruyère. La carte nationale indique « La Brasserie » comme nom de lieu. Les caves d’une ancienne brasserie ont-elles été réutilisées pour le stockage du fromage ? Je n’ai pas réussi à trouver une réponse satisfaisante.

Itinéraire : Romont – Billens – Hennens – Lovatens – Curtille – Moudon
Distance : 15Km
Dénivellation : 180m
Durée : 4h

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

code