frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Attempt to the Pointe d’Orny

A few decades ago, when one aimed to get to the Cabane du Trient, one had to reach the glacier below the Cabane d’Orny and reach the section above the cracked part. So, to get to Trient, one had to be equipped for the glacier: ice ax, crampons, harness, and rope.

With the melting of the Orny glacier, it is now possible to reach the Cabane du Trient without having to walk on the glacier. One also should carefully consult the map, because one might tend to follow a nice path that goes down to the glacier.

From the Cabane d´Orny, follow a well-marked path that goes around Lake Orny in a wide loop to the north, to cross the slopes under the Aiguilles Tourelles. A small passage through the old moraine is a bit tricky and requires a good balance. A little further on, one walks alongside a small lake left by the glacier before climbing through the glacial polished rocks. This is the most delicate passage: one must climb a small wall leading to a ledge. Higher up, the path crosses above the glacier with a slightly aerial step (reminding of the one near the Breya, but without the vegetation). It does not take long to go around the corner and reach the Cabane du Trient.

From the Cabane du Trient, it is worth climb to the neighboring Pointe d´Orny. Of course, the terrain changes, since one no longer has a trail, but one must make one’s way through the big boulders. A few vague tracks indicate the easiest route. At the top, the view is panoramic and rewards the effort.

Comments are closed.

Téléphone : +41 22 757 67 57Telephone : +41 22 757 67 57Telefon : +41 22 757 67 57 frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Tentative pour la Pointe d’Orny

Il y a quelques dizaines d’années, lorsque l’on voulait se rendre à la Cabane du Trient, il fallait, en-dessous de la Cabane d’Orny, atteindre le glacier pour le remonter jusqu’au-dessus de la partie très crevassée. Ainsi, il fallait, pour se rendre au Trient, s’équiper pour le glacier : piolet, crampons, baudrier et corde.

Avec le retrait du glacier d’Orny, il est désormais possible de rejoindre la Cabane du Trient sans avoir à marcher sur le glacier. Il faut d’ailleurs bien consulter la carte, car on aura tendance à vouloir suivre une bonne trace descendant vers le glacier.

Depuis la Cabane d’Orny, il faut suivre une sente bien marquée qui contourne par une large boucle vers le nord le lac d’Orny, pour traverser les pentes sous les Aiguilles Tourelles. Un petit passage à travers l’ancienne moraine est un peu délicat et demande un bon équilibre. Un peu plus loin, on côtoye un petit lac laissé par le glacier avant de grimper à travers les roches moutonnées. C’est là le passage le plus délicat : il faut grimper une petite paroi donnant sur une vire. Plus haut, le sentier traverse au-dessus du glacier par un pas un peu aérien (rappelant celui se trouvant proche de la Breya, mais sans la végétation). On ne tarde pas à contourner l’angle et rejoindre la Cabane du Trient.

Depuis la Cabane du Trient, il vaut la peine de monter à la Pointe d’Orny voisine. Certes, le terrain change, puisque l’on n’a plus de sentier mais il faut se frayer un chemin à travers les gros blocs. Quelques vagues traces indiquent l’itinéraire le plus facile. Au sommet, la vue est panoramique et récompense l’effort fourni.

Comments are closed.