frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

The site of the dinosaur’s tracks

I had not been to the Emosson le Vieux dam since a long time. In other words, the last time I went up to the dinosaur tracks, the trail ran along the left bank of Lac du Vieux Emosson. At the height of the dam, one had to cross a gallery to follow the left bank before starting the climb towards the Col des Corbeaux.

After the raising of the dam at the end of the 2000s, the path now climbs on the right bank and directly joins the site with the traces.

Departing from Col de la Gueulaz, one first crosses the impressive Emosson arch dam and follows a small, paved road which leads to Vieux-Emosson. At one point, it is worth following a small path allowing to cut the lace that the road makes.

Once on the dam, one crosses it and follows the right bank of Lac du Vieux Emosson on the heights. Another little effort and one reaches the famous slab with the tracks. These traces are dated -245 million years ago, i.e., at the very beginning of the Mesozoic. Interestingly, for many people, the time of the dinosaurs is the Jurassic when it is the Mesozoic as a whole (which includes the Jurassic).

For the return trip, I came back via the Veudale Gorge. Even if to reach it one still has to climb a little, its route is worth the effort, because one is in a small world apart. Near the Tête du Largey, one finds the road taken during the climb.

Comments are closed.

frontdesk@destination-montagne.ch
  • Français
  • English
  • Deutsch

Der Standort der Dinosaurierspuren

Ich war schon lange nicht mehr auf dem Emosson le Vieux Damm. Mit anderen Worten, als ich das letzte Mal zu den Dinosaurierspuren gestiegen bin, verlief der Pfad am linken Ufer des Lac du Vieux Emosson. Auf der Höhe des Staudamms durchquerte man ein Stollen, um dem linken Ufer zu folgen, bevor den Aufstieg zum Col des Corbeaux.

Nach der Aufhebung des Damms Ende der 2000er Jahre steigt der Weg nun am rechten Ufer und erreicht direkt das Ort mit den Spuren.

Vom Col de la Gueulaz ausgehend überquert man zunächst den beeindruckenden Emosson-Bogendamm und folgt einer kleinen Asphaltstrasse, die nach Vieux-Emosson führt. An einer Stelle lohnt es sich, einem kleinen Pfad zu folgen, auf dem die Kehre der Strasse abgekürzt werden kann.

Auf dem Damm angekommen, überquert man diesen und folgen dem rechten Ufer des Lac du Vieux Emosson auf den Höhen. Noch eine kleine Anstrengung und man erreicht die berühmte Platte mit den Spuren. Diese Spuren werden vor -245 Millionen Jahren datiert, also ganz am Anfang des Mesozoikums. Interessanterweise ist die Zeit der Dinosaurier für viele Menschen der Jura, während es in Wirklichkeit das Mesozoikum als Ganzes ist (einschliesslich des Jura).

Für den Rückweg bin ich über die Veudale Schlucht zurückgekommen. Auch wenn man bis dorthin noch ein wenig aufsteigen muss, lohnt sich der Weg, weil man sich in einer kleinen Welt für sich befindet. In der Nähe des Tête du Largey erreicht man die Strasse, die man beim Aufstieg gefolgt war.

Comments are closed.